Named Professorships

Named professorships honor those who have distinguished themselves through scholarship, service, artistry, or teaching. Kevin Young, poet and director of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, is a current University Distinguished Professor.

Kevin Young

Asa Griggs Candler Professorships

The Asa Griggs Candler professorships recruit and retain especially well-qualified senior faculty members. 

Charles Howard Candler Professorships

The Charles Howard Candler Professorships recognize senior scholars demonstrating exceptional teaching, scholarship, and service. 

Robert W. Woodruff Professorships

The Robert W. Woodruff Professorships recruit teacher-scholars of distinction who provide a unifying force to graduate education and serve a broad constituency. 

Emory Distinguished Professorships

The Emory Distinguished Professorships engage renowned public leaders and artists with Emory's research and teaching missions. 

Named Professorships

Faculty Spotlight